Today, in 1909: Exhausted and short of food, Australian geologists Douglas Mawson and Edgeworth David become the first to reach the magnetic South Pole.

The distance between the South geographic pole and the South magnetic pole is approximately 2858 kilometres.

The South magnetic pole is not fixed and its position moves about 5 kilometres per year presently in a north to northwesterly direction.

Alistair Forbes Mackay (left), T.W. Edgeworth David (centre) and Douglas Mawson arrive at the South Magnetic Pole. (Photo: Edgeworth David)